DP LYLE & JAN BURKE

9-7-13: Hollywood Storytelling: Science Fact or Make Believe?

OUR FIRST SHOWWhat’s the good, the bad, and the ugly when Hollywood tackles crime and science? Do they sacrifice science for story? What do they mostly get wrong? And right? Jan Burke and DP Lyle discuss crime scene, crime lab, and coroner/ME basics.

LISTENhttp://www.blogtalkradio.com/suspensemagazine/2013/08/27/crime-and-science-radio--episode-1

LINKS:

National Institute of Justice: A Guide for General Crime Scene Investigation: http://www.nij.gov/topics/law-enforcement/investigations/crime-scene/guides/general-scenes/welcome.htm

Forensic Talk: Crime Scene Procedures: http://harfordmedlegal.typepad.com/forensics_talk/2006/10/crime_scene_pro.html

CSI: Organization and Procedures for Search Operations: http://www.crime-scene-investigator.net/respon3.html

CSI: Documentation Procedures: http://www.crime-scene-investigator.net/respon4.html

Forensic Psychology: Guide To crime Scene Investigations: http://www.forensicpsychology.net/resources/crime-scene-investigations/

Autopsy: Wikipedia: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Autopsy

NIH: Visible Proofs: Autopsy Videos (Warning: Graphic): http://www.nlm.nih.gov/visibleproofs/galleries/media/autopsy/

Interfire: Example of an Autopsy Report: http://www.interfire.org/features/fatalities/autopsyreport.pdf

Crime Scene Evidence Files: Summary autopsy Report: http://www.crimescene.com/suicide/evidence.autopsy.php

Crime Lab Project Backlog Quiz: http://crimelabproject.wordpress.com/the-backlog-quiz/

Crime Lab Project Death Quiz: http://crimelabproject.wordpress.com/the-death-quiz/

Terri Sundquist on Promega Connections about Crime Science Investigation Myths: http://promega.wordpress.com/2010/05/24/the-reality-of-crime-scene-investigation-part-i-common-myths/

ProPublica Post-Mortem series - excellent look at reality of death investigation: http://www.propublica.org/series/post-mortem

Lee Lofland on 10 Forensic Myths Spread by TV: http://www.leelofland.com/wordpress/10-forensic-myths-spread-by-tv/

Racine Journal-Times Article on the CSI Myth: http://journaltimes.com/news/local/the-csi-myth-law-enforcement-say-crime-shows-don-t/article_1f4b8564-50be-11e1-8e94-0019bb2963f4.html

Lubbock Avalanche-Journal: http://lubbockonline.com/stories/052508/loc_282666587.shtml

Real-World Forensic DNA Expert Lists “The Top 10 TV Crime Lab Myths”: http://www.reuters.com/article/2011/11/30/idUS139754+30-Nov-2011+BW20111130

"Ridiculous Photo Enhancement Scene from the TV Show CSI”: http://petapixel.com/2012/08/17/ridiculous-photo-enhancement-scene-from-the-tv-show-csi/

"The Cliche of Enhancing Images in Movies”: http://petapixel.com/2010/08/03/the-cliche-of-enhancing-images-in-movies/

Infographic: CSI Miami vs Reality: http://dailyinfographic.com/csi-miami-vs-reality-infographic

National Forensic Science Technology Center CSI Effect Program: http://projects.nfstc.org/csieffect/index.html

An informative PDF document about Forensic Science Myths and Facts from the NFSTC can be downloaded here:: www.nfstc.org/?dl_id=155

© Douglas Lyle 2015