DR. MAX M. HOUCK

5-3-14: A New Lab, A New Approach to Forensic Science: An Interview with Dr. Max M. Houck, Director of the Washington D.C. Department of Forensic Sciences

Max Houck

BIO: Dr. Max M. Houck is an internationally-recognized forensic expert who has worked for the FBI Laboratory, at a medical examiner's office, in the private sector, and in academia. His casework includes the Branch Davidian Investigation, the September 11 attacks on the Pentagon, the D.B. Cooper case, and the West Memphis Three case, among hundreds of others. He served for 6 years as the Chair of the Forensic Science Educational Program Accreditation Commission (FEPAC) and serves on other committees, including for Interpol. Dr. Houck has published widely in books and journals. He is a founding Editor of the journal Forensic Science Policy and Management and has also co-authored a textbook with Dr. Jay Siegel, Fundamentals of Forensic Science. In 2012, he was in the top 1% of connected professionals on LinkedIn. Dr. Houck lives and works in Washington, DC as the Director of the DC Department of Forensic Sciences (www.dfs.dc.gov). 

LISTENhttp://www.blogtalkradio.com/suspensemagazine/2014/03/01/crime-and-science-radio-with-special-guest-max-houck

LINKS:

BOOKS BY DR. MAX HOUCK:

Fundamentals of Forensic Science: http://www.sciencedirect.com/science/book/9780123749895

Science of Crime Scenes: https://www.elsevier.com/books/the-science-of-crime-scenes/houck/978-0-12-386464-2

Succeeding as an Expert Witness: http://www.crcpress.com/product/isbn/9781420051629

OTHER LINKS:

Washington, DC Department of Forensic Sciences http://www.dfs.dc.gov

Photo gallery for Dept of Forensic Sciences http://dfs.dc.gov/multimedia/forensic-sciences-photo-gallery

Washington, DC Official Website http://dc.gov/DC

American Academy of Forensic Science http://www.aafs.org

Forensic Science Education Programs Accreditation Commission (FEPAC) List of Accredited Universities http://fepac-edu.org/accredited-universities

Strengthening Forensic Science in the United States: A Path Forward (National Academy of Sciences study, free download) http://www.nap.edu/catalog.php?record_id=12589

How Does Forensic Science Affect Your Life? http://crimelabproject.wordpress.com/how-does-forensic-science-affect-your-life/

National Forensic Science Technology Center http://www.nfstc.org

FBI Forensic Science Laboratory http://www.fbi.gov/about-us/lab

Forensic Magazine http://www.forensicmag.com

PBS Frontline: Waco: The Inside Story http://www.pbs.org/wgbh/pages/frontline/waco/

National 9/11 Pentagon Memorial http://pentagonmemorial.org

Crime Library: DB Cooper http://www.crimelibrary.com/criminal_mind/scams/DB_Cooper/index.html

© Douglas Lyle 2015